life

Cakes

I’d be lying if I said morning tea wasn’t my favourite meal of the day. And morning tea isn’t morning tea without something sweet and carby. Since we’re on a budget I’ve cut back on treats from the bakery and have been making my own.

Two cakes that have graced our table and filled our tummies this week:

Cinnamon Teacake


This is an oldie but a goodie from my Day To Day Cookery book courtesy of my year 8 High School Home Economics class. Quick to whip up and only 20 minutes to bake – no waiting, eat warm!

Nigella’s Chocolate Olive Oil Cake.

 

cake

This one is made with almond meal so it’s a great gluten free option, or just a good way to get more almonds into your diet. Almond meal is expensive but the cake doesn’t take much at all and you can pad it out with plain flour if you’re not worried about gluten. I still had a small amount of almond meal left so I made this cake up on Friday before my Mum arrived with the kids. Unlike the teacake, it does take a while to cook – 40-45 mins. Lovely and moist – almost more a dessert than a cake, but this one is lovely enjoyed warm too.

Recipe for this one is here: https://www.nigella.com/recipes/chocolate-olive-oil-cake

Leave a Reply

